An Epic Win

One of the perks of working as a full-time staff with InterVarsity (and being married to one) is that a few times a year, InterVarsity Press sends a free shipment of new books that have recently been published. My (Lindsay) goal is to read one book each time we get a shipment (which is usually two or three books), and so far, I’ve been doing pretty good: I’ve read three books from the last four shipments, and am working on the latest one now.

My current choice is Work, Play, Love by Mark R. Shaw, and while I’m only two chapters in, it’s been challenging my ideas about life. Specifically, it’s been challenging what Shaw has been focusing on in these two chapters: the work-life balance. It’s one thing I’ve struggled with in the past few years – especially because Hans works from home and works non-traditional hours, all of which tends to blend with family life in a unique way.

Work, Play, Love cover

One thing I also like about the book is that it has lots of pictures. When was the last time you read a (non-children’s) book with pictures?

After a discussion about the way Lady Wisdom worked and played with God during the creation of the world, focusing on Proverbs 8, chapter two focused on the idea of play. While sharing with Hans about the book, I told him about fiero (an Italian word that Shaw equates with the idea of an “epic win” in a competition). Shaw’s encouragement in the chapter is (among other things) to structure our workday so that we can seek to accomplish an epic win.

And so, I decided to attempt an epic win yesterday. It looked something like this:

  1. Spend time focused on Caleb, playing with him as he desired, especially in the morning.
  2. Clean up the kitchen before dinner prep started.
  3. Make Caleb’s Christmas present. (I was guessing it would take an hour of sewing)
  4. Roast a turkey with all the fixings. (We were a few days late for our Thanksgiving meal at home.)

Coming up with my list in the morning gave me something to focus on and a reason to multi-task more efficiently than normal. (I ran from my sewing machine to the kitchen a few times.) But it also gave me a feeling of satisfaction to see everything done at the end of the day. I thought I was crazy for attempting a few “big” things in one day, but it was fun to juggle them and work hard.

Of course, today I didn’t come up with as structured of a list for my epic win, and I haven’t focused on the other ways to structure my day much, either, so I have some working to do. But after my experiment I’m ready to try again.

Now on to reading the rest of the book!

Note: I was not asked to write a review of the book – I simply wanted to share my thoughts about and experience with the book.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

