Settling

It’s been awhile since my last post. Even with an active one-year-old, there haven’t been too many blog-worthy activities happening in our apartment.

At least, that’s what I’ve been telling myself. But in the past few weeks I have come to the realization that I haven’t adjusted to life in the U.S. as well as I thought I had – and all of the frustrations, disappointments, and unmet expectations have been clouding my vision and hardening my heart. I wrote in my journal the other day that, “I guess that I thought I would be settled into life by now…” and while we have routine in our lives, I don’t feel very settled in my heart. I know that part of being settled in a new place comes with time (it took us years to really be settled in Cochabamba), and that as we form deeper friendships with those around us we will be more settled, but I still have been longing for more now. More relationships, more depth, more meaning, more purpose.

And in the last few days I’ve been finding it. God has been revealing himself to my heart and is softening the shell that formed around it. He’s been opening my eyes to faults I have been blind to and is meeting me where I am. It seems like every time I have been reading books or in Bible study in the past week the idea that faith requires effort has come up. The idea challenged me to start putting forth an effort, but I have found that it is not nearly as difficult of an effort as I expected. Jesus wasn’t lying when he said that his “yoke is easy and his burden is light” (Matthew 11:30).

This song has been speaking to my heart lately. I found it through a friend.

And we have had “blog-worthyactivities happening in our apartment, the most exciting being the small group we have started with college student couples who are in serious relationships. We were a part of a similar group as students and when we heard that it had ended, knew that we wanted to mentor couples in that way. So far, we’ve met a few times and the group is still small, but there are a few more couples we hope will join in the near future. It has been fun to get to know them and to challenge them in their relationships with each other and with God.

We also had the opportunity to host the InterVarsity student leadership team for Pique Macho, and are excited that they have decided to send a group of MTU students to Cochabamba this summer. The details are still being worked out, but there may be 10-15 MTU students set loose in Bolivia for over a month! (Unfortunately, Hans and I aren’t going to make it… but maybe we can live vicariously through the students!)

Plus we’ve had a lot of family-related activities happening. Caleb and I have hosted friends in our apartment when Hans is working, and have become involved in a few different activities. My mom came to visit for a weekend when Hans was away, and I’ve been able to volunteer with the children’s Wednesday night ministry at Bethany. So while I am still settling into life in the States, there is a lot of life here for me to enjoy already. I’m thankful that God has been showing this to me.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

