School’s Out!

Although I have always enjoyed school (a necessary requirement for a teacher!), there is something wonderful about the last day. Having just experienced my first last day as a teacher, I can say it’s just as satisfying to finish the school year from the other side of the teacher’s desk.

Somehow, my students all enjoyed the year – and they were surprised to hear it was my first time teaching. I must have done a good job pretending I knew what I was doing! I think the nicest compliment I received from my students was being asked repeatedly if I was returning next year – and what classes I would be teaching. The plan is to take the first semester off from teaching (since baby Nyberg is due in the second week of school!) and return in January for the second semester to teach one class (calculus or chemistry).

Several of my junior girls asked to come see me in the hospital when the baby is born and the junior class gave me a pack of diapers, while singing “Happy Baby to You” (to the tune of Happy Birthday). It was priceless.

I really enjoyed teaching at CCS this year, and hope that in between finding derivatives and balancing equations, my students learned a little about themselves, responsibility, and being a Christian in the “real world.” Of course, if they actually remember some of the math and science, that wouldn’t be bad either!

My First Calculus Class

These three brave seniors spent the year learning calculus with me. It may have been a small class, but they worked hard and we had fun.

My First Chemistry Class

My chemistry class!

They gave me diapers!

Two of the lovely ladies from my chemistry class, presenting me with diapers for baby Nyberg.

On Stage for Graduation

The teachers sat behind the graduates during the grad ceremony. Unfortunately, the photo with the graduates didn't turn out. Congratulations, Class of 2011!!

Tags: , ,

One response to “School’s Out!”

  1. Em says :

    CAN’T WAIT TO SEE YOU SO SOON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

