What Do You Want To Be When You Grow Up?

On my way home from work this afternoon, I walked past some road construction. There was no heavy machinery around – unless you count a flat-bed truck and a jack hammer. The workers – three guys and one lady (dressed in a skirt) – were digging in the dirt with shovels and moving the heavy cobble stones around.

It’s not uncommon to see manual labor here in Cochabamba – jobs that are generally done by machines in the States. As I walked past the workers, I was struck with the realization of the many blessings I have been given – foremost among them that I not only was able to dream about what I wanted to be when I grow up, but I was blessed with the choice as an adult.

I don’t know any official statistics about Bolivia’s poverty, but I do know that many people don’t have the opportunity to answer the question, “What do you want to do for a living?” Instead, many in Bolivia answer the question, “How will you feed yourself?”

And as I walked past the road construction this afternoon, I wondered, “Would they be working on this road if they had another option?”

I don’t know the answer to that question – maybe they like working in construction. I know I wouldn’t enjoy it. And I’m thankful I was given the opportunity to choose my career path.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

