Empanadas de Queso Recipe

We’ve had a request for the recipe to make cheese empanadas, so here it is! This recipe was given to me by Bellela, our host mom, after she taught me how to make empanadas.  (Note: I’ve since learned another, similar, recipe, posted here.)

Finished EmpanadasIngredients
2 cups flour, sifted
1 cup corn starch
2 Tbsp sugar
2 Tbsp baking powder
3 eggs, separated
1/3 cup butter or margarine
milk, as needed
1/2 pound white cheese, shredded

Preparation
Place the flour, corn starch, baking powder, and sugar in a mixing bowl and mix well. Cut in the butter until it resembles coarse meal. Make a “volcano” with the flour mixture and add the egg yolks. Mix and add the milk little by little until the dough is smooth but not sticky. Wrap the dough in plastic wrap and let rest for 10-15 minutes.

In another bowl, mix the egg whites until they are foamy (but not stiff). Add the cheese and mix well.

Make 1-1 1/2″ balls of dough. Using a rolling pin, roll out into ovals on a well-floured surface. Place a teaspoonful of the cheese mixture in one side of the oval and fold the other side of the dough over to make a semi-circle; press the two sides of the dough together.

Press the edges of the empanadas together and use the tines of a fork to make little lines all the way around, as shown in the picture:

Place the empanadas on a greased cookie sheet and glaze with a beaten egg. Bake the empanadas until golden brown. (Unfortunately, I don’t have an oven temperature or baking time… I would guess that the temperature is around 350 degrees and that they baked for about 15-20 minutes.)

Let us know how the empanadas turn out!

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Empanadas de Queso Recipe”

  1. Sarah says :

    Did I mention to you that I made empanadas de pollo for Aaron for our 6 month anniversary on Monday-the 14th! They took a very long time to make..I think the cheese ones would have been much shorter. But they tasted good and Aaron was thoroughly pleased. I fried some and baked some. I liked the baked the best b/c I thought they had more flavor and I know they’re healthier for us!

  2. The Barnharts says :

    We made these this weekend and really enjoyed them. I didn’t expect them to be quite so biscuit-y, but I liked that too. We used mozzarella but will try it again with monterey jack or queso as I think it will have more flavor.

  3. Dori Elliott says :

    Hey! Thanks so much for posting this recipe. I think I’m going to use it to make empanadas for an international dinner at my college (I grew up in Bolivia), but I was wondering about how many empanadas one recipe yields?? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

